INEC Declares OBIANO Winner Of Anambra Governorship Election


(NAN) The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Chief Willie Obiano of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) winner of the governorship election in Anambra.

This followed the completion of the supplementary election in the state on Saturday in areas where election did not hold on Nov. 16.

Declaring the result, the Chief Returning Officer of the election, Prof. James Epoke, said the APGA candidate scored 180,178 votes to win the election.

He said Mr Tony Nwoye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Sen. Chris Ngige of the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 97,700 and 95,963 votes to emerge second and third respectively.

Mr Ifeanyi Ubah of the Labour Party came fourth with 37,495 votes, while Chief Godwin Ezeemo, candidate of Progressive Peoples Alliance (PPA), clinched the fifth position with 5,120 votes.

Results from INEC showed that of the 1,776,167 registered voters in the state, 465,891 people were accredited while total votes cast was 442,242.

Ngige,Obiano,Ubah and Nwoye
Ngige,Obiano,Ubah and Nwoye

The results also showed that 16,988 votes were voided and valid votes were 425,254.

“To declare a winner, the candidate must score 25 per cent votes in two-thirds of local governments in the state, and having satisfied this condition, Obiano is now returned as winner,” the Chief Returning Officer said.

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


What is 14 + 10 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)