(NAN) President Goodluck Jonathan on Sunday called on all aggrieved parties in the concluded Anambra governorship election to keep their bids for redress within the bounds of legality and decorum.
The president’s call is contained in a congratulatory message to the INEC declared winner in the election, Chief Willie Obiano of APGA.
In a statement issued by the Special Adviser to the President on Media, Dr Reuben Abati, Jonathan urged all aggrieved persons in the polls to seek redress within acceptable political conduct.
He said that their actions should be in conformity with the principles of democracy and the rule of law.
Abati said the president’s plea was sequel to complaints about the conduct of the governorship elections.
He said the president congratulated Obiano on his emergence as governor-elect of Anambra following the conclusion of the elections by INEC.
“As Chief Obiano prepares to assume office in March next year, President Jonathan urges him to dedicate himself to building on the laudable achievements of his illustrious predecessor, Mr Peter Obi.
“The president also urges Chief Obiano to commit himself fully to the socioe-conomic development of all parts of Anambra,’’ he said.
Abati said the president urged the governor-elect to be committed to the protection of the interests of all citizens of the state, irrespective of their party affiliations or political loyalties.
He said the president called on Obiano to ensure that his incoming administration carried all stakeholders along to promote greater peace, unity and harmony within the state.
Abati said the president assured Obiano that the Federal Government would continue to work with the Anambra Government and all other state governments to achieve better living conditions for all Nigerians.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that INEC early Sunday morning declared Obiano as governor-elect following the results of the Nov. 16 elections and the Nov. 30 supplementary poll.
INEC declared that Obiano won the governorship race with 180,178 votes. While the PDP flagbearer, Tony Nwoye came second with 97,700 votes.
Dr Chris Ngige of APC recorded 95,963 to clinch the third position, followed by Ifeanyi Ubah of Labour Party who scored a total of 37,495 to emerge fourth in the poll.



It will be recalled that the election conducted on Nov. 16 was declared inconclusive by INEC and the national electoral body had fixed Nov. 30 for the supplementary election.
The INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega, had openly admitted irregularities in the conduct of the polls and apologised on behalf of the commission.(NAN)

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


What is 10 + 11 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)